2024 REAL AND PERSONAL
cuarmam coury - PROPERTY LISTING FORM

/__—\
LISTING NO. FIRE DISTRICT #
RETURN TO: CHATHAM COUNTY TAX DEPARTMENT, P.O. BOX 1046, MT. AIRY, N.C. 27030 PHONE (919) 542-8250
IMPORTANT - Please make sure we have your correct mailing address. When
requesting name changes to real estate, include a copy of the legal document
validating the change (filed will, marriage license or death certificate).
NAME 1 SSN
EMPLOYER BIRTH DATE
PHONE
(HOME) (WORK) (MOBILE)
NAME 2 SSN
Hd
.l_' - : EMPLOYER BIRTH DATE
PHONE
(HOME) (WORK) (MOBILE)
EMAIL
The disclosure of the social security number is voluntary.
IMPORTANT
CHANGES TO REAL ESTATE For All Sections Below - Mark through any items you sold or no longer own prior to January 1

List all changes made to real property that were either started or completed during the past year. Example: changes to farm buildings, outbuildings, carports,
porches, decks, piers/docks or other miscellaneous use buildings, interior changes include remodeling, basement or other finishing, etc.

PROPERTY LOCATION PARCEL ID CHANGES MADE

UNLICENSED Motor vehicles including campers, trucks, cars and trailers (including permanent and multi-year tags).
DO NOT list licensed vehicles with an annual renewal.

MAKE MODEL YEAR VIN # PURCHASE COST | PURCHASE YEAR

G OTHER PERSONAL PROPERTY SECTION: List all boats, outboard motors, motorized watercraft and jet-skis.

MAKE MODEL YEAR REGISTRATION # PURCHASE | PURCHASE MARINA/LOCATION ADDRESS

cosT YEAR
o AIRCRAFT:

MAKE MODEL YEAR N-NUMBER SERIAL # LOCATION ADDRESS

MOBILE HOMES: If you sold a mobile home please indicate the new owner’s name, address and contact info. Mobile homes are billed
according to the title information. If a mobile home is sold or purchased the title needs to be transferred into the current owner’s name.

WIDTH/ PURCHASE PURCHASE
LENGTH CosT YEAR

MAKE YEAR VIN/SERIAL # ADDRESS/LOCATION OF MOBILE HOME

New Owner: Address: Phone Number:

IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE PROPERTY OWNERS TO LIST ALL THIS FORM MUST BE SIGNED & RETURNED DEADLINE TO
PERSONAL PROPERTY OWNED JANUARY 1ST OF EACH YEAR. AVOID 10% LATE LISTING PENALTY JANUARY 31, 2024

O AFFIRMATION: under penalties prescribed by law (N.C.G.S. 105-310) | hereby affirm that to the

best of my knowledge and belief this listing is true and complete. IMPORTANT
Please see other side of form for important info *

Signature:x Ownerl:lAgentl:l Date:

€2/¥/2T 1d¥d/889

JAND



0 North Carolina law provides three types of property tax relief for North Carolina residents.

G. S. 105-277.1—Property Tax Homestead Exclusion For Elderly Or Disabled Persons: BAUGEEICINERS CULESR UL EVAEICER el

of the appraised value of a permanent residence owned
and occupied by a North Carolina resident who is at least 65 years of age or is totally and permanently disabled, and whose income does not exceed $36,700. The amount
of the appraised value of the residence that may be excluded from taxation is the greater of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or fifty percent (50%) of the appraised
value of the residence. Income means all moneys received from every source other than gifts or inheritances received from a spouse, lineal ancestor, or lineal descendant.

If you received this exclusion last year, you do not need to apply again unless you have changed your permanent residence. If you received the exclusion last year but the
property no longer qualifies for any reason, you must notify the assessor. Failure to notify the assessor that the property no longer qualifies for the exclusion will cause the
property to be subject to discovery with penalties and interest pursuant to G.S. 105-312.

If you did not receive the exclusion last year, but are now eligible, you may obtain an application from the county tax department. It must be filed with the county assessor
by June 1 to be timely filed.

G. S. 105-277.1C Disabled \Veterans Exclusion: BULEEECIENEDCETERGERE $45,000 of the appraised value of a permanent residence owned

and occupied by a North Carolina resident, who is a totally and permanently Honorably Discharged
Disabled Veteran, or a surviving spouse that has not remarried of a totally and permanently Honorably Discharged Disabled Veteran. To be eligible for this exclusion you
must be a permanent resident of Chatham County who is either a totally and permanently Honorably Discharged Disabled Veteran or a surviving spouse that has not
remarried of a totally and permanently Honorably Discharged Disable Veteran.

G. S. 105-277.1B—Property Tax Homestead Circuit Breaker Deferment [auiiibutiniialatboniiili kA

appraised value of a permanent residence owned and occupied
by a North Carolina resident who has owned and occupied the property at least five years, who is at least 65 years of age or is totally and permanently disabled, and whose
income does not exceed ($55,050). If the owner’s income is ($36,700) or less, then the portion of property taxes imposed on the residence that exceeds 4% of the owner’s
income may be deferred. If the owner’s income is more than ($36,700) but less than or equal to ($55,050), then the portion of the property taxes on the residence that
exceeds 5% of the owner’s income may be deferred.

The deferred taxes are a lien on the residence. The most recent three years of deferred taxes preceding a disqualifying event become due with interest upon one of the
following disqualifying events: 1) the owner transfers the residence; 2) the owner dies; or 3) the owner ceases to use the property as a permanent residence. Multiple
owners of a permanent residence must all qualify and elect the circuit breaker before a deferment of taxes will be allowed.

You must apply for the opportunity to defer property taxes each and every year that you wish to defer taxes. The application may be obtained from the county tax department
and it must be filed with the county assessor by June 1 to be timely filed.

Note: An owner who qualifies for both the property tax homestead exclusion and the property tax homestead circuit breaker may elect only one forms of property tax relief.

For more details on the above benefits or for information on how to apply please visit our website at

www.chathamcountync.gov or call (919) 542-8250.

- Mail this completed form to Chatham County Tax Department P.O. Box 1046, Mt. Airy, N.C. 27030 (or)

- Hand Deliver it to the Tax Office located in the Courthouse Annex at 12 East St. Pittsboro, N.C.

- Listings submitted by mail shall be deemed to be filed as of the date shown on the postmark affixed by the
U.S. Postal Service. If no date is shown on the postmark or if the postmark is not affixed by the U.S.
Postal Service (for instance your own postage meter), the listing shall be deemed to be filed when
received in the office of the Tax Department.

- If you have any questions, please call (919) 542-8250.

PRIOR

JANUARY 31




INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHATHAM COUNTY PROPERTY TAX LISTING FORM

If you are unsure about how to fill out the form, please call the Tax Department at (919) 542-8250 or bring
the listing form to the Chatham County Tax Department for assistance between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

o Verify your name and address, making corrections if needed.

o Verify your and your spouse’s Home Phone, Birth Date and Social Security Number, making
corrections if needed. List your and your spouse’s Employer’s Name and Phone Number.
The disclosure of the social security number is voluntary. This number is needed to establish the
identification of individuals. The authority to require this number for the administration of
a tax is given by United States Code Title 42, Section 405(c)(2)(c)(i), US Code: Title 42, Section 405,
and N.C.G.S.105-3009.

« If you do not agree with the assessed value of any real property, you have the right to appeal to the
Chatham County Board of Equalization and Review. You may contact the appraisal office at (919)
542-8211 to request an official appeal form, which must be completed and returned to our office.
All real property appeals must be received prior to January 31 or the adjournment of the Board of
Equalization and Review. ** Date of last reappraisal 2021**

o Real estate owners must list taxable additions or improvements to real property. Any property owner
who adds a new structure or who builds an addition must report that change to the Tax Department.
Such improvements as (but not limited to) building a deck, finishing a basement, adding a porch,
building a carport, garage, barn, or storage building are a few examples of additions to property.
Failure to report improvements may result in additional taxes and penalties. Routine repairs
and maintenance to real estate need not be reported. Examples of routine repairs and/or
maintenance are such things as (but not limited to) painting, replacing carpet, repairing roofs,
replacement of fixtures, and other similar repairs. Routine repairs and maintenance do not include
major remodeling projects wherein the structure of building is significantly altered or updated.
NOTE: The total cost should include a fair estimate of your personal labor contributed.

You must report if any structures have been destroyed.

TYPES OF PROPERTY THAT MUST BE LISTED

« You are not required to list registered vehicles (except multiyear tagged trailers), which are currently
licensed with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, we have prelisted all other personal property that
was listed for taxation on January 1 last year. Please review all personal property listed and mark
through any items not owned January 1 this year and add any additional purchases of mobile homes,
boats, jet skis, aircraft, and all unlicensed automobiles, trucks, trailers, multiyear tagged trailers,
campers and motorcycles.

o A change in North Carolina General Statutes, 105-273(13) effective 2003, requires that all
manufactured homes (singlewides, doublewides, and triplewides) be classified and listed for tax
purposes as personal property unless all of the following requirements are met: wheels, tongue
and axle removed, set up on a permanent foundation as required by the Chatham County
Building and Inspection Department and the home and land must be owned by the same owner.

If the manufactured home meets all these requirements, it is considered to be real property and will
not be required to be listed each year.



IMPORTANT: If you are an owner of a mobile home that is not located on your land, please provide
the name of the landowner and the physical address of the mobile home in the space provided.

o Read the affirmation and sign as owner or agent. Date this form. ALL UNSIGNED FORMS WILL BE
RETURNED FOR SIGNATURE.

o Owners of rental houses or units only. Personal property is taxable if it is income-producing property.
Call our office for a business personal property listing form at (919) 542-8250.

« Ifyou own any farm equipment used to produce income, you must list it on a business listing form.
Call our office for a business personal property listing form at (919) 542-8250.

o N.C.G.S.105-277.3 Land parcels presently used for agricultural, horticultural, or forestland may be
considered for qualification in the Present-Use Value Program if the application is made during the
regular listing period of January this year or within thirty (30) days of the date on the notice of change
of valuation. Landowners already receiving this deferment must notify the Assessor of any changes of
(1) use, (2) acreage, (3) ownership, etc. to the real estate within the regular listing period.

« Ifyou need an additional form mailed to you please contact our office at (919) 542-8250.

o Refer to the back of the listing form if you have questions concerning property tax relief for the elderly
and/or permanently disabled persons with limited incomes. Information and instructions are on the
form. If you received the exclusion last year simply verify your continued eligibility by signing in the
space provided.

GENERAL INFORMATION

o North Carolina State law requires that assessed values be listed at 100% of true market values.

o All personal property — except registered (tagged) vehicles must be listed each year in January.

« Listing forms submitted by mail will be considered filed as of the date shown on the postmark affixed by
the U.S. Postal Service. If no date is shown on the postmark, or if the U.S. Postal Service does not affix
the postmark, the listing will be considered filed when received by the Tax Department.

« Audits of selected individual and business property tax accounts will be conducted using verifying
documents such as State of North Carolina income tax returns, State of North Carolina registration
lists for motor vehicles, mobile homes, and boats, and Federal Aviation Agency registration
lists for airplanes.

» Taxpayers who list property at a value less than its true market value, who file false listing or affirmation,

who remove or conceal property for the purpose of evading taxes, or who fail to file proper listing will
be subject to a Class 2 Misdemeanor.
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